The Inconvenience of Infinite’s “Inconvenient Truth”: Part 1

Part 2

Infinite is one of my favorite Kpop groups and, in my opinion, one of the best Kpop groups out there. So when I was able to buy tickets to their One Great Step concert back in August, I couldn’t even believe it. It was my very first concert, after all. Let’s say I screamed my lungs out and my ears were completely blown out the whole concert—and also during the screening of “Inconvenient Truth”.

I thought the MV was hilarious and very fun to watch. My favorite parts were of Hoya, like when he was talking on the phone and he saw the girl bend over in front of him and he gasped, and when he tried to take pictures of her later (and running backwards with his phone raised above his head as she leaves with Sungyeol), and also when he was talking to her and her cleavage was showing and he spit out his water.

I sat on the train back home that day, earphones in with Infinite ringing through my eardrums, and with Infinite still flashing through my mind.

Then, about a month later, I stumbled upon AngryKpopFan’s post. (Read it here: http://angrykpopfan.tumblr.com/post/61100640539/y-pop-infinites-inconvenient-truth-ft-my-tears) Suddenly, I had a whole new understanding of the MV, and so I began to think.

What is the meaning behind “Inconvenient Truth”?

Let us first look at the side of the argument that AngryKpopFan shares with quite a few others. Here is what I got out of her article. (Please read it, though. It’s very insightful.)

  1. Even though it was intended to target rape culture, it does not deal with the cause and instead blames the victim for drawing the attention of men (e.g., lyrics such as “why are you doing this”, “you’re putting yourself through trouble on purpose”)
  2. As it was meant to focus on rape culture, it is spreading the wrong kind of message and is actually not helping at all (due to victim-blaming)
  3. Perverted guys trying to take pictures up a girl’s skirt is not cute no matter how hot they may be. (Fangirls, try this activity: Replace Infinite with ugly fat guys instead. You will see.) It is still unacceptable behavior.

(A/N: No one is accusing Infinite of being rapists. We are saying that the MV may encourage rape culture by pushing the blame onto the woman for wearing whatever she is wearing.)

How about the other side of the argument? Please stay tuned for the next blog entry!

Part 2

Leave a comment