Celebrity Hate and Why It Makes Me Sad

Just yesterday I wrote a post that is meant to be about celebrity hate (particularly directed to those who don’t appreciate the hard work that goes into becoming an idol), and here’s a follow-up to that. Read the post here.

Celebrity hate is something that is, sadly, very prevalent. Every celebrity will have haters. Not even celebrity hate but hate in general, and the most common place where hate would be bred and raised would most likely be at school.

I’m sure each and every one of you has experienced some form of hate before. Heck, I’m sure some of you have been bullied or backstabbed by people you thought were your friends. (Yes, it hurts a lot.) Maybe the hate came in a different form: a harsh piece of feedback on something you were proud of, telling you how terrible it was, telling you that you should die for having created the atrocity which was your proudest work. And even in the future, that comment will come back to haunt you, so that whenever you produce something truly admirable, you will look at it, and all you can see is failure.

Why does it make me sad? Why does it affect me?

Because sometimes, I want to be an idol too. Although I know I never will because I’m too shy and introverted and the idol life won’t suit me at all. When I hear them being hated, it lands a blow upon me, too: because they are idols who are much more skilled than I am, who are much more good-looking and just better at everything in general. If we look at that, then…

What does that make me?

(A/N: I apologize for sounding whiny, but I hope this article will also resonate within some of you who feel the same way. I understand that I’m young and there’s lots of room to improve, but here are my current feelings, so sorry.)

Idols are not perfect. Neither am I, neither are you. And because of that, we hurt. We hurt when we make mistakes, we hurt when we are hated, and we hurt when we fall.

It upsets me when people insult a celebrity’s appearance. They talk about that crook in their nose, or perhaps their eyebrows that are a little too high, or their lips that are either too thick or too thin. At the same time, they also criticize the fact that they have gone through plastic surgery to correct their features. In my opinion, it’s depressing how low it is how people take to insulting people on things that they were born with and couldn’t control. If you really want to insult them, tell them how terrible they are for kicking puppies and murdering your neighbor. (Who would always give you cookies. And now they won’t be able to make you cookies anymore. The nerve.)

Celebrities are humans too. They may have done bad things in the past, but that doesn’t mean they can’t learn from their mistakes and improve in the future. If they don’t, well…I guess there’s not much we can do about that except for encouraging them to right their wrongs.

Tl;dr: hate isn’t good. Not just for the person your hate is directed towards, but also to you! Being hateful makes you less happy in general.

I’m not saying you guys don’t have the right to hate; I’m just saying that we should think about our actions and how it may cause harm to others. This isn’t even for celebrities; just everybody in general.

If you guys are feeling down because of what someone said to you, feel free to send me an email at jkpoptarts@gmail.com because I’ll be happy to help you. Remember, everyone, be kind to others!

Leave a comment